Built in 1846, the Nancy Kimball house is the oldest cobblestone building in Elgin, and one of the last ones left standing at 302 W. Chicago Street. It was built for the widow of one of Elgin’s founders, Joseph Kimball by her sons, William and Samuel. The Kimball brothers later served as mayors of the city. This building is unique and important to Elgin as one of the last old architectural styles left in Elgin, with 16 inch thick cobblestone walls, a source of neighborhood pride and a project that promotes architectural preservation and adaptive re-use.
The Elgin History Museum volunteers, board members and staff have a vision of what this house can be transformed into but it will need work! The Elgin History Museum, Near West Neighbors and the City of Elgin have created a team dedicated to:
The vision and future of the Nancy Kimball House will be:
A gallery space for exhibition of local history, decorative art and the work of craftsmen.
A work room for hands on demonstrations, community projects.
A venue for education programs serving the nearby schools, as well as adult learners.
A small group meeting space.
A small office space for the Near West Neighbors Association and Elgin History Museum.
The project is being overseen by the Elgin History Museum.