Royal Victoria Chapel
The Royal Victoria Military Hospital was commissioned by Queen Victoria, who laid the foundation stone at the site in Netley in May 1856. The hospital opened in 1863 and parts of the site remained open until 1978. During this 115-year history, thousands of sick and wounded servicemen from conflicts across the British Empire and both World Wars came to Netley for treatment and recuperation. For a time, the hospital was also home to the Army Medical School and saw many significant developments in medical treatments.
All that remains today of the main hospital building is the Royal Victoria Chapel, which houses a museum with artefacts and exhibitions telling the story of this fascinating site and the people who worked and were treated there.