Seven Stories


Seven Stories - The National Centre for Children's Books is a museum and visitor centre dedicated to children's literature and based in the Ouseburn Valley, Newcastle upon Tyne, close to the city's newly regenerated quayside. The centre takes its name from the theory that there are only seven basic plots in literature, and the fact that the renovated Victorian mill in which it is housed has seven levels. It is the first and only museum in the UK wholly dedicated to the art of British children’s books. Their archive is housed in a separate building in Felling.HistorySeven Stories opened in August 2005 after a £6.5 million conversion from a former granary building.In March 2006 the centre received the Centre Vision Award, the Civic Trust’s national award for best practice in town centre regeneration.Seven Stories celebrated their fifth birthday in August 2010 with an exclusive golden ticket event with popular children’s author Dame Jacqueline Wilson.In September 2010, Seven Stories purchased several original typescripts by Enid Blyton, making Seven Stories the largest public collector of Blyton material. The purchase was made possible by special funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, MLA/V&A Purchase Grant Fund, and two private donations.In 2010 Seven Stories was awarded the Eleanor Farjeon Award, made for distinguished service to the world of British children’s books.


Lime Street
Newcastle Upon Tyne


Be the first to know and let us send you an email when Seven Stories posts news and promotions. Your email address will not be used for any other purpose, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Contact The Museum

Send a message to Seven Stories:

Nearby museums